Iterative Waves of Me

When I think about this move to Japan, it seems like some kind of existential jet lag — as though there are some iterative waves of me that wash up occasionally, making me more of a person, more of a presence here in my new country. I arrived to Japan in March of this year — with just the bare minimum items needed to exist (e.g., clothes, a little money, and a laptop). After a little while, I got my immigration paperwork in order, then residency. A little later, I got a new cell phone and started looking for jobs. On and on. This process is still continuing, of course. Even this week, there are a couple bits of news that I’m really excited about.

First of all, I’ve just accepted a position as an English Instructor at Berlitz Japan. Unemployment, like all things, must come to an end. I will be teaching up to 40 sessions per week at my assigned language center. It is a pretty big office, with 33 language instructors, in a very nice part of the city. The offices are quite nice, with lots of windows looking out over Tokyo. I have one week of training coming up next week, then I will start my normal work week on July 13. Although I have had some reservations about getting involved again in the English education industry, I’m actually pretty excited about this. I realize that teaching is one of the most important skill sets in any manager’s tool belt, and it is one where I could stand to improve. So, I’m looking forward to this adventure, and to getting as much out of it as I can.

The second bit is that, after 15 weeks(!), my large shipment of our stuff from Tulsa is set to deliver to the apartment on Saturday morning. A total of 47 boxes of all of our belongings. I’m looking forward to being reunited with some of this stuff. At the same time, though, I’m not sure where we’re gonna put it all!

Leave a Reply

